Login or Register Now!
Login or Register Now!
img
Select one of the following
  • Please Kindly click on the fb post to apply.

img

img Search Tutor

  • ID : 10943
    Name :

    Vivien Lim Jia Yi

    Background : Part Time Tutor
    RATING :
    img

    Certificates Verified

    Tutor has verified their academic qualification based on their stated qualification
    Qualification : SINGAPORE MANAGEMENT UNIVERSITY

    0 ( - )

    [...]
    ANDERSON JUNIOR COLLEGE

    ( - )

    [...]
    Tutor is available to teach offline 1-1 tution
    Experience :

    I have 3 years of teaching experience and at that time I taught 2 Primary School Students for about a year each. I taught one Primary 4 Student English, Mathematics and Science and another Primary 5 & 6 Student for the same 3 subjects. As I am tutoring 3 subjects, I had 2 lessons a week per student for 2 hours each session in order to cover sufficiently. My tutoring methods aren't fixed because I believe that every student has different needs and the ways that they absorb information are very different. One of my student who is a boy, is someone with a very short attention span so I had to make the lessons very engaging and use creative methods to encourage him to do his work. Whereas my other student who is a girl, is more reserved, very unsure of herself would prefer that I always clarify whether she understands what I teach and will need extra assurance consistently as she lacks confidence in her work. Basically, I would use the standard way of tutoring until I observe that the student requires a different ways of teaching. The character and personality of the student does play an important role as to how I should teach in order for him or her to be at his or her best learning capability. As for upper secondary student, I believe that being older they should have a stronger control over how they study and would encourage them to assign their homework and only clarify problems with me because I did this back then when I was a secondary school student and it is very effective. Both students made significant progress with their results especially with the extra efforts that they have put in. After all, the tutor can only do so much, it was really their willingness to do their work consistently and ask when in doubt which allowed them to improve in their studies. Recently before I started university I also had a teaching job at Julia Gabriel Centre, an enrichment centre for children for about 6 months as an Assistant Teacher in Writing Classes and Speech & Drama Lessons. It was a very valuable experience as I learnt how to handle children better and I can easily say that I have become achieved a high level of patience which I believe is really a virtue. 


    Teaching Subjects :

    Pre-School

    Mathematics, English, Creative Writing

    Lower Primary

    Mathematics, Science, English

    Upper Primary

    Mathematics, Science, English

    Lower Secondary

    Mathematics, Science, History

    Upper Secondary

    Maths A, Maths E/D, Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Bio/Chem, Phy/Chem

      Flag profile as inappropriate
Close
img